The Hunger Games Book Review

Winning means fame and fortune

Losing means certain death

The Hunger Games have begun


The Hunger Games by author Suzanne Collins is the first book in The Hunger Games Trilogy. The story takes place in Panem, a post-apocalyptic nation where North America once stood. The nation is organized by one wealthy Capitol with twelve poorer surrounding districts. Every year, as punishment for rebellion against the Capitol, one boy and girl from each district are chosen by lottery to compete to the death to survive in a dangerous arena until only one-the winner-remains. (WARNING! Spoilers ahead!)

The story follows 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who takes the place of her younger sister Primrose in the 74th annual televised event, The Hunger Games. Peeta Mellark, who once saved Katniss and her family from starvation, is also a tribute (competitor). In the Games, Katniss and Peeta act as a couple to gain support from the audience who can send in gifts to their favorite tributes.

Soon, only two tributes remain-Katniss and Peeta-but only one can win the Games. Since both are unable to kill the other, they devise a plan to threaten suicide with poisonous berries in hopes that the Capitol would rather have two winners than none at all.

They are both declared winners, but Katniss has become a Capitol target because she defied the government on public television. Her and Peeta were not on good terms either after he finds out their relationship was all an act to win the audince over.

The New York Times Best-Selling author also wrote The Underland Chronicles and Catching Fire and Mockingjay (of The Hunger Games Series), novels in which she also explores the effects of violence and war on young people. This easily addictive and interesting science fiction novel for teens is sure to please. You can purchase the book at your local bookstore for only about $8.00 in paperback.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Skip to toolbar