Fincke Cup for Rattlers

The 6th Annual Fincke Cup is a game in remembrance of Ian Fincke, a student who played soccer at  Reagan and attended Johnson in its first year, who passed away at the age of 16. The winner is decided by the aggregate score of both the boys’ and girls’ varsity games. Previously this season, the varsity boys tied Johnson 1-1, and the girls won 2-0. With this game holding just as much importance off the field as on it, with scholarships being awarded to one girl and one boy from both teams, two good games were to follow.

Senior Jake Malone scored in the first half, and the late add-on to the team brought a more fierce attack to the Rattlers. While Colin Burris and Christian Dwarica are both great players as well and seemingly much more technical with their dribbles, Malone seems to have no care for fancy footwork. He also is not afraid to put his body on the line. Flopping is notoriously known in all levels of soccer, and it’s refreshing to see a player who is not like that.

“He brings more to our attack, and he brings the ball forward,” senior Midfielder Carlos Valencia said. “He plays differently compared to the other mids and wings. I enjoy playing with him on the field.”

In the second half, Dwarica was able to get on the scoresheet with a goal on an assist from senior midfielder Derek Burris, who assisted on both goals by the Rattlers. It was up to the Rattler defense and goalkeeper Danny Chavez to keep the Jags from scoring. Chavez finished the game with four saves, but had a fairly easy night in the second with help from the defenders. Chavez had great saves when he was needed, keeping the Rattler lead in tact.

“Danny always plays well, he’s good to have back there when one of us gets beat,” senior Defender Nick Tarentino said. “He’s not as tall as Mauricio, but he is still able to guard the net just as well if not better sometimes.”

Winning 6-2 with goals from seniors Sophia Acevedo, Nicole Galan, and Sam Batley, and juniors Katy Johnson and Aerial Modisette, the girls dominated Johnson.

With an aggregate score of 8-2, Reagan was able to leave with the Fincke Cup trophy, with scholarships given to Derek Burris and Sarah Grace Freeman from Reagan and Kyle Reynoso and Addie Bachle from Johnson. Over $25,000 in scholarships have been awarded to players in the last six years.


About Ben Santos

Ben Santos is a senior, and it is his first year on staff. He is the Sports Editor, and he can be found at each football game taking pictures for the Recorder. He can be reached at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *