Bugle Call Online Takes Honorable Mention At Contest

Fifteen journalism students traveled to the Gunter Hotel today to accept awards from the Texas Association of Journalism Educator State Convention. The 2010 Traveler Yearbook won 2nd place in the Small Book Best of Show Category and the Online Newspaper received honorable mention.

The online newspaper has been published for less than a month and beat out all other San Antonio schools.

“Co-Editor, Jan Piedad, and I were holding hands when the announced the category,” Katrina Dela Cruz said. “When we were the first name called, we jumped up and screamed then ran down the aisle together.”

There were four awards given in each Best of Show category and the fourth was Honorable Mention.

“I wanted the book to be as competitive as it possible would be,” co-yearbook editor Maribel Molina said. “It’s great knowing that my year playing the harsh editor paid off with placing at TAJE.  And then I’m so proud of every single who worked hard on the book.”

Individual awards went to Sahira Zuniga with a Superior in onsite photography/architecture and an Honorable Mention in Newspaper Photography.

In Newspaper Front Page Design, Katherine Sotelo earned a superior rating while she received an Honorable Mention in Yearbook Photography.

“The conference was really fun but it was really nerve racking when they were calling all the names out because I didn’t know if I was going to win or not,’ Sotello said. “The conference was amazing and Bobby Hawthorne remembered who I am and asked how I was.”

Katrina Dela Cruz earned a Superior rating in Editorial Writing while Aja Leija won Excellence in Basic Yearbook design.

“Winning was the best part of the weekend,” Aja Leija said. “They said my name wrong when they called it out but I didn’t care; it happens all the time.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
  1. marcyscott 41 years ago
  2. ajajordan 41 years ago
  3. Tori A. 41 years ago
Skip to toolbar