Brahma Ballads 2.2

Coming straight out of the hall’s of MacArthur High School, here is your weekly dose of music:


Formed in San Diego in 1992, Blink-182 is an American rock band that was founded by Tom DeLonge, Mark Hoppus, and Scott Raynor. After releasing their first two albums, Blink-182 went on a U.S tour, midway in which current drummer, Travis Barker, replaced Scott Raynor. The trio’s third album, Enema of the State, garnered great success, earing multi-platinum status. After many years of universal popularity, vocalist and guitarist Tom DeLonge left the group in 2005, which set in motion an indefinite hiatus. The other two members, Mark Hoppus and Travis Barker, continued playing music together in a new band dubbed +44. After four years of seperation, Blink-182 reunited in February 2009 and are currently working on a new album. Most recently, Blink-182 was spotted on a summer tour around Europe and North America in 2009 and 2010. This was the bands first tour since 2004.

Sounds like: Pop mixed with Punk-Rock

Staff Favorites:

What’s My Age Again?

Feeling This

All the Small Things

Sum 41:

Sum 41 is a Canadian rock band formed in Ajax, Ontario, in 1996. The current members are Deryck Whibley, Jason McCaslin, Stev Jocz, and Tom Thacker. After signing an international record deal in 1999, Sum 41 released their debut album, All Killer No Filler, in 2001. The album achieved immediate success and was certified platinum in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. Since then, Sum 41 has released three other albums, Does This Look Infected?, Chuck, and Underclass Hero, all of which were named platinum in Canada.

Sounds Like:

Alternative-Rock infused with Pop-Punk

Staff Favorites:

Fat Lip

In Too Deep

Still Waiting

The All-American Rejects:

The All-American Rejects are an American rock band formed in 1999 from Stillwater, Oklahoma. The band is made up of four members; vocalist and bassist Tyson Ritter, lead guitarist, Nick Wheeler, rhythm guitarist Mike Kennerty, and drummer Chris Gaylor. The band’s self titled debut album, The All-American Rejects, was released in 2003 and introduced their first single, “Kiss Me”. After their very successful debut album, The All-American Rejects hit mainstream fame with Move Along, their second studio album. Producing hit singles such as, “It Ends Tonight”, “Dirty Little Secret”, and “Move Along”, the album went on to sale over two million digital copies in the US. The All-American Rejects third album, When the World Comes Down, maintained the group’s popularity and it’s first single, “Gives You Hell”, peaked at number 4 on the Hot 100 chart. Today, The All-American Rejects have sold over 10 million albums worldwide and were ranked #73 on the “Hot 100 Artists of the 2000s”.

Sounds Like: Alternative-Rock meets Emo Pop

Staff Favorites:

Dirty Litte Secret

Gives You Hell

It Ends Tonight

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About Michael Robinson

Hey, I'm Michael and I'm a senior at Macarthur. I really enjoy watching, reading, and writing sports. I am also a huge fan of everything entertainment. Movies, TV, books, video games - you name it. If you have any questions or comments about my stories, feel free to leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *